Bug Tracking System - later

project python
Now where is a bug tracker that is as easy and unobtrusive as my little git tool? Command-line usage already weeds out all the web-based solutions like Bugzilla, Trac, FogBugz, or Mantis. Likewise hosted solutions.

There are a few distributed bug tracker out there, of all, I have tried ditz and DITrack. I couldn’t get them to work well for me.

DITrack requires SVN repository, but I prefer something that is not tied down any revision control system. Plus, I prefer git and hg anyway.

After some Googling, I found later, with its accompanied blog post.

later is an open project, and its written in python, which means that I can very easily add features and make changes. Plus, the software design supports the development of plugins. (Game won, hands down)

After looking through the source code, I have made some minor changes in this fork. I have made some changes to personalize the program.

I am duely impressed by the design of the software. The use of _HOOKS to orgainize and add plugins is really smart. But there is some things I find lacking or problematic:

  • Interactive web server (planning to use web.py for this)
  • Use of uuid for identification (I prefer use of numbers instead, eg. #1, #898)

Since I am going to work through mobile, I am planning a telegram bot (maybe) that is somewhat like chatterbug, making use of online chat system to make simple changes to my .later files.