LiveCoding Project

project livecoding

I love watching others do live drawing and illustrations. Those are opportunities where you can find out how the techniques are being used, and the little tips and tricks that are often excluded from the teaching material.

In a similar vein, I am starting a live coding channel where I can record my work flow. I hope to show the flow of thoughts as they come to me. I hope that these will be helpful for those just starting out to see how programmers go about writing code.

fixing bugs

There are many processes in coding that are not so easy to teach. And top of that list is finding and fixing bugs. Where do we start finding the problem from? How do we do about fixing it? These are the many questions I had when I was learning to code.

Finding answers

Next topic has to do with looking for help. When I first started out, I didn’t know what to search and where to look for. When writing code, getting a clear understanding of how your tools works is a very crucial process. Reading code, searching up documentation, these are not something easy to teach too.

Code refactoring

The code refactoring is the difference between bad and smelly code. When we are writing code, we are often wrapped up in all the tiny details that we miss the big picture, the organization of code. Just like proofreading a peice of writing, instead of your raw stream of consciousness, you organize and structure your thoughts to present them in a coherent manner.

Through these coding streams, by watching me go about producing code, I hope that those starting out will be able to pick up the small tips and tricks here and there and become a better coder.

Between reading programming books and watching people write code, I believe that videos are a much fuller form of tutorial. I hope that this live streaming project will prompt me to start more weekend code projects too. Let’s hope I can keep this alive.