Fixing My Clipper

project hardware diy

tl;dr I fixed my hair clipper

my clipper died on me

So I was using my hair clipper halfway and it suddenly died on me. The clipper just died randomly, not receiving any power. It seems to work for a while after a bit of shaking around, but after a while, it just died out.

So I decided to take it apart. If it is fixable, great, if not, at least I can figure out how the clipper works.

prying it open

I tried looking all over for some screws to open up the clipper, and there aint any in sight. Then I spotted these two black pegs popping out through the top of the clipper where the motor is exposed.

I popped it open, pushing on those small pegs that is holding the sliver outline together.

screwdriver too fat

Upon popping it up, the 4 screws are exposed and it seemed like it should be easy from here on, and body was I wrong. The bottom 2 screws came out easily, after I got the right screw head (some star-shaped screw head, took me some time to try them one-by-one, but I finally found it).

The top 2 screws were cased in a deeper hole, and unfortunately, the shaft on my screwdriver was too big to fit and reach the screw. I took a big flat head screw driver and started working the hole to make it bigger.

getting into the inside

Once the screws are out, the case is then popped out. Once the top shield is removed, the chip is accompanied with 2 batteries at the bottom. The chip’s only electronic output is the motor, which is connected all the way up.

One of the other main component inside clipper, is the section that helps move the shield up and down. The wire runs through this adjustable knob to the motor.

close up on the adjustable knob

The shield is attached to this black color attachment, guided by the plastic tracks by the sides. The knob is held in place with this 3 plastic ring, because it is in place, this will push the black brackets up and down.

fixing the problem

After everything is opened up, I saw that the wires connecting the motors were loose. I took the wires out, re-soldered it back, and viola, it works. And now I fitted everything back through the knob, put everything back into place and the casing is ready to go on.

final touches

The casing was a little troublsome to put back together. The combination of latches, and all the plastic pegs makes it a little hard to go in. Coupled together with the overly-designed power switch (well… it is more robust, but I had a hard time putting back the casing because of it), it took me quite a few tries to get the casing down.

The screws went back in, together with the silver framing. I tried it with all the additional shields. Everything works: I have fixed my clippers.