PMS Online - Pitman Search Online

project pitman shorthand webapp



tl;dr I extended my previous pitman shorthand dictionary searcher into a full working web app. code on gitlab

extending on my previous project

Last week, I created some form of pitman shorthand dictionary searcher. So I used it for a while, then I realized that, hey, it is not too hard to convert it to a working web application. I went around searching for a suitable javascript pdf viewer.

Mozilla has this quite aptly named pdf.js, as one of its examples, they have a viewer (fully built with all the different bell and whistles). So I got my list of words, plugged it into the viewer, and WALAH, it is done.

the online web version

pms online

If you need to search for any word, just key it up on the top, and it will bring you to the area where the word is likely to be, just scroll around and you will find it.

what’s next

The current application is still kinda slow to load, since the file is huge. Maybe for the next rendition, we can get a more compressed version of the file - and hopefully speed up the loading time.